New on the Shelves

Another title from my personal library – impulse buys, book fair buys, and things I have accumulated along the way. Golden State by Michelle Richmond:


The state of California votes on secession in the wake of a divisive presidential election in this gripping, prescient novel of marriage, family, and social upheaval set in modern-day San Francisco.

 Doctor Julie Walker, a general internist at the VA, has just signed her divorce papers when she receives news that her younger sister, Heather, has gone into labor. Though theirs is a strained relationship, Julie sets out for the hospital to be at her sister’s side–no easy task, as the streets of San Francisco have erupted into chaos. Today is the day that Californians vote on whether or not to secede from the United States. Today is also the day that Julie will find herself at the epicenter of a violent standoff with a hostage-taker who was once her patient and friend.
As the day unfolds, Julie is forced to examine both the promising and painful parts of her past–her Southern childhood; her romance with her husband, Tom; her estrangement from Heather; and the shattering incident that led to her greatest loss.
Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jacquelyn Mitchard, and Anna Quindlen, Golden State is a powerful, complex novel that explores the intricacies of marriage, family, and the profound moments that shape our lives.

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *